Concernedcitizen714's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Pain Of A Loss Sets In Big Time…..

One never realizes that friends will ever leave your side at the spur of the moment, in the blink of an eye or even get so sick and suffer so much yet never complain. Today, I went to the funeral of my friend, Donna, and when I saw her lying there so peaceful, it made me so sad inside, but also happy that her suffering was over and she could now rest in peace without pain, as the end of her life was painful from what I was told.

The room was full of people, family, friends, co-workers. The amount of support was amazing and was not less then I imagined as she was well known, well respected and someone that if you were lucky to have come into her path in life as well as her family……you were very lucky indeed. You could call upon them at any time and they would be there. Many a time I would go and converse with her about things and walk away feeling much better. Her calming voice and love of life and others showed it all. I have attended functions she did through her job with the Heart Society and see what a wonderful job she did, as always, giving her all into it. She was teaching me how to be a good Executive Director as she was. I only can wish and hope that I can be as good as she was.

I looked at the pics that were on a few boards and all of them showed the love of the kids in her life and the family she lived for. She lived for them and they for her. She was close to all of them and loved them and could not talk about them enough. She would tell me funny stories and make me laugh. She was like a second mom to my son and when I was having trouble I would call her and since he loved her so much she would ask him to come help her, he would talk to him, and fix it because he listened to her……you know on those occurances when kids don’t listen to you but will listen to others say the same thing. One time in particular, something was going on that scared my son, she called him and had her husband come pick him up so he could spend the night and not be frightened…..!

I could go on and on, but I will miss her a lot and so will my son. Rest in Peace Donna, we love you!

December 29, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment