Concernedcitizen714's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Snow Day in NY

Today was a snow day in NYC and the 5 boroughs. Everyone was waiting to see what the NEW Mayor was going to do about school since Mayor Bloomberg had a strong belief that schools needed to be open because it was a hardship on parents to find sitters if they were not. I think since I have been associated with NY he has closed school maybe 4 times in the 10 years for snow and for a week when we had destruction from Hurricane Sandy. Well, all were pleased when he closed the schools and many took off from their jobs avoiding the long commutes one public transportation that was not running too well. 

The air was quite crisp at a balmy 18 degrees. The side streets were not plowed. My strret was covered and was icy as well. I remember as a kid it we lived for days like this when we got up, ate breakfast, did chores and all met up at the famouse sledding hill behind a school. We would spend the entire day there only going home to eat lunch and get some dry clothes on. I also had grandparents who lived in Vermont in a town called Shaftsbury. This town was so rural with one house and then the closest house a ways down the block. Thank goodness there were kids in that house and we all played together. The backyard of my grandparents was one bill hill so we had a huge place to sleigh ride. We also went snow mobile riding and then off to the slopes of Mt. Snow and Mt. Bromley for some skiing. 

I remember being around 3 when I first went to Mt. Snow and the ski instructor taught me how to ski. The first time we went down the bunny slope it was the instructor, my mom and me. We got to the top and the instructor sent me down without poles as he followed. It was the most amazing feeling and I loved skiing after that that I did it well into my 20’s. I would go with the woman whose child I babysat for to Pennsylvania to the Poconos.

Needless to say I too got called off from work because I am guessing my student wanted to enjoy his/her snow day. I just went outside as I noticed that the normally busy street that I live on has not had a car pass in the past hr. The air is a very crisp 10 degrees and there are no sounds. It is eerily quiet as if NY went to sleep. You can see the shine on the road as the streetlight shines off the patches of ice. Usually you can hear the planes taking off and landing at the Newark Airport and can see them flying between the trees and not even that is happening. 

I wonder what tomorrow will bring. Have a great weekend all. Stay safe and warm. A good weekend for some good old family time with maybe a nice boardgame and some appitizers for lunch. Then a nice snuggle and a good family movie. Whatever it is Enjoy!

January 4, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment